San Antonio Spurs

Home » Basketball » NBA » San Antonio Spurs

The San Antonio Spurs are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Spurs compete in the Southwest Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. Founded as the Dallas Chaparrals in 1967, the team moved to San Antonio and became the Spurs in 1973. The Spurs are one of the four remaining franchises from the American Basketball Association after its merger with the NBA in 1976. The Spurs were a franchise not particularly known for winning until the 1990s when the team won five division titles. Since 1999, the Spurs have appeared in six NBA Finals, winning five of them. This makes them one of the most successful franchises over that period of time. The team has also won 13 division titles between 1999 and 2017.

The Spurs play their home games at AT&T Center in San Antonio, Texas. A lot of their success since 1999 can be directly correlated to three men. Coach Gregg Popovich is considered the best coach in NBA history and led the team to at least 50 wins every season from 1999-2000 to 2016-2017. Forwards David Robinson (1989-2003) and Tim Duncan (1997-2016) can also be credited with a great deal of the Spurs success.

Location: San Antonio, Texas

Head Coach: Greg Popovich

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Southwest Division