Philadelphia 76ers

Philadelphia 76ers

Home » Basketball » NBA » Philadelphia 76ers

The Philadelphia 76ers are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The 76ers compete in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. Founded in 1946 as the Syracuse Nationals, the franchise is one of the oldest in the NBA and one of only eight to make it through the NBA’s first decade. As the Nationals, the team won three conference titles and one NBA championship. After moving to Philadelphia and changing their name to the 76ers in 1963, the franchise had some success but have also had long stretches of being one of the worst teams in the NBA. Overall, the 76ers have won five division titles, nine conference titles, and three championships. Their most recent appearance in the NBA Finals came in 2001 when they lost to the Los Angeles Lakers.

The 76ers play their home games at Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The franchise has had some of the greatest players in NBA history play for their organization, and they have retired 10 players’ numbers. Center Wilt Chamberlain, who some consider to be the greatest player of all time, helped the 76ers win the 1967 NBA championship. Julius Erving and Moses Malone played a big part in the 1983 NBA championship won by the 76ers. One of the most electric players in NBA history, Allen Iverson, helped to lead the team to the 2001 NBA Finals. Despite this history of success, the late 2000s and early 2010s were a big struggle for the team, but they turned it around in the second half of the 2010s with many winning seasons.

Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Head Coach: Brett Brown

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division