Memphis Grizzlies

Memphis Grizzlies

Home » Basketball » NBA » Memphis Grizzlies

The Memphis Grizzlies are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Grizzlies compete in the Southwest Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. Originally established in Vancouver in 1995, the Grizzlies moved to Memphis in 2001. The Grizzlies do not have a long history of success as they have never won a division, conference, or NBA title. The furthest the team has ever advanced in the playoffs is the Western Conference finals in 2013 where they were swept by the San Antonio Spurs. The Grizzlies did make the playoffs every year between 2004 and 2006 but were swept each time. They also made the playoffs every season from 2011 to 2017.

The Grizzlies play their home games at FedExForum in Memphis, Tennessee. The franchise is the only major professional sports team in Memphis. The team has yet to retire any player’s number, but they have said that they plan to retire the numbers of Zach Randolph, Tony Allen, Marc Gasol, and Mike Conley. Because of their playoff success in the 2010s, the Grizzlies have a top 12 win-loss record during that period.

Location: Memphis, Tennessee

Head Coach: Taylor Jenkins

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Southwest Division