Houston Rockets

Houston Rockets

Home » Basketball » NBA » Houston Rockets

The Houston Rockets are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Rockets compete in the Southwest Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. Founded in San Diego in 1967, the Rockets have had a wide range of success in their franchise history. After winning just 15 games in their inaugural season, the Rockets made the playoffs the next season behind rookie sensation Elvin Hayes. However, it would be another nine seasons before they would make the playoffs again. The Rockets, who moved to Houston in 1971, had their most success in the 1990s when they won the 1994 and 1995 NBA championships. They also had a successful run in the 1980s with two trips to the NBA Finals. In total, the team has won seven division titles, four conference championships, and two NBA championships.

The Rockets play their home games at the Toyota Center in Houston, Texas. The Rockets have had three players win the NBA Most Valuable Player award. Moses Malone was the first to do it followed by Hakeem Olajuwon and James Harden. Malone helped to lead the Rockets to an NBA Finals appearance in 1981 and was followed by another great center in Olajuwon after Malone joined the Philadelphia 76ers. Olajuwon and Ralph Samson (paired with Clyde Drexler for the last Finals appearance) led the Rockets to three NBA Finals, winning two of them. In recent history, center Yao Ming and guard Tracy McGrady led the Rockets to great regular season success followed by postseason disappointment. The same has been true of guards James Harden’s and Chris Paul’s tenures with the team.

Location: Houston, Texas

Head Coach: Mike D’Antoni

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Southwest Division