Detroit Pistons

Detroit Pistons

Home » Basketball » NBA » Detroit Pistons

The Detroit Pistons are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Pistons compete in the Central Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. The team was founded in Fort Wayne, Indiana in 1941 as the Fort Wayne Pistons. They played in the National Basketball League (NBL) and the Basketball Association of America until 1949 when the two leagues merged to form the NBA. The Pistons won two NBL championships but did not find success in the NBA until 1988 when they won their first of nine division titles. The Pistons also have seven conference titles and three NBA championships (1989, 1990, 2004). Notably, the Pistons appeared in six straight conference finals, winning two, between 2002 and 2008. 

The Pistons play their home games at Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Michigan. One of the big factors in turning the Pistons from a losing franchise into a winner was their adoption of the “Bad Boys” reputation in the NBA. Players like Isaiah Thomas, Bill Lambier, Joe Dumars, and Vinnie Johnson helped to establish a culture of winning and toughness for the Pistons. Chauncey Billups, Richard Hamilton, Tayshaun Prince, and Ben Wallace recreated that as much as the new NBA rules would allow during their run of six straight conference championships and one NBA championship in the 2000s.

Location: Detroit, Michigan

Head Coach: Dwane Casey

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Central Division