Cleveland Cavaliers

Cleveland Cavaliers

Home » Basketball » NBA » Cleveland Cavaliers

The Cleveland Cavaliers (Cavs) are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Cavs compete in the Central Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. Founded in 1970, the Cavs have a long history of losing as a franchise. They opened their inaugural season by losing their first 15 games. The team won one division title in 1976 and did not win another until 2009. The team has won seven division titles in total and five conference championships. They won both the division and conference consecutively from 2015 to 2018. The Cavs won their first NBA championship in 2016 after coming back from a 3-1 series deficit to the Golden State Warriors.

The Cavs play their home games at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland, Ohio. The best player in franchise history, and one of the best players in NBA history, is LeBron James. James was drafted out of high school in 2003 and immediately turned around the franchise. James played with the team from 2003-2010 and from 2015-2018, leaving in free agency after each tenure. The team won six division titles, five conference titles, and one NBA championship with LeBron James.

Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Head Coach: John Beilein

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Central Division