Brooklyn Nets

Brooklyn Nets

Home » Basketball » NBA » Brooklyn Nets

The Brooklyn Nets are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Nets compete in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. Founded in 1967 as the New Jersey Americans, the franchise was a part of the NBA’s rival league, the American Basketball Association (ABA). After one season, the team moved to New York and became the New York Nets. Before the 1976 ABA-NBA merger, the Nets won three ABA conference titles and two ABA championships. After the merger, the Nets moved back to New Jersey where they were located until 2012. During their time in New Jersey, the Nets won four division titles and two conference championships. They have yet to win an NBA championship. 

The Nets moved their franchise to Brooklyn, New York, in 2012, and they now play their home games at the Barclays Center. In early Nets history, Julius “Dr. J” Erving was the team’s best players and helped them to all of their ABA success. In the early 2000s, the Nets had the powerful trio of Jason Kidd, Vince Carter, and Richard Jefferson who all helped them win two conference titles and four division titles. However, the team was never able to win an NBA Championship. The Nets have retired six players’ numbers and have one NBA Hall of Famer.

Location: Brooklyn, New York

Head Coach: Kenny Atkinson

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division