Boston Celtics

Boston Celtics

Home » Basketball » NBA » Boston Celtics

The Boston Celtics are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Celtics compete in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. Founded in 1946, the team was one of the original eight to join the NBA, and they are considered to be the most successful franchise in league history. The Boston Celtics are one of two original NBA teams still located in the same city; the New York Knicks are the other team. The Celtics currently hold the record for most wins in NBA history, and they have the most league championships with 17. The Celtics also have 22 division titles and 21 conference titles to go along with their 17 championships. Historically, the Celtics greatest rivals have been the Los Angeles Lakers who they have beaten 9 out of the 12 times that the teams have faced off in the NBA Finals.

The Celtics play their home games at TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts. The team has had some of the greatest players in NBA history on their roster since they were founded. Center Bill Russell dominated the late 1950s and 1960s with a league record 11 NBA championships. Small forward Larry Bird was another dominant force for the Celtics and won three championships with the team during the 1980s. Small forward Paul Pierce was the Celtics modern day star and teamed up with Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen to win the 2008 NBA Championship. Along with their great players, the Celtics also had Red Auerbach who many consider to be the greatest coach and executive in NBA history. Auerbach won 9 NBA championships as a coach and 7 as an executive.

Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Head Coach: Brad Stevens

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division