Toronto Blue Jays

Home » Baseball » MLB » Toronto Blue Jays

The Toronto Blue Jays are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Blue Jays are a member of the East division in the American League (AL). Founded in 1977, the Blue Jays became the second MLB team to be based in Canada, and since 2005, after the Montreal Expos moved to Washington, they have been the only team based in Canada. The majority of the Blue Jays success as a franchise came in the late 1980s and early 1990s. The team won division titles in 1985, 1989, and 1991 through 1993. The Blue Jays also won the World Series in both 1992 and 1993. Other than those seasons, the Blue Jays have made the playoffs just twice – winning the AL East in 2015 and making the playoffs as a Wild Card team in 2016. 

The Blue Jays play their home games at Rogers Centre in Toronto, Canada. The stadium has a retractable roof, so the chances of a game being cancelled or affected due to bad weather in Toronto is very unlikely. Despite existing as a franchise for over 40 years, second baseman Roberto Alomar is the only player inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame wearing a Blue Jays hat. Pitcher Roy Halladay was inducted without a cap insignia, but he is recognized as a Blue Jays player in the Hall of Fame.

Location: Toronto, Canada

Head Coach: Charlie Montoyo

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL East