Texas Rangers

Home » Baseball » MLB » Texas Rangers

The Texas Rangers are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Rangers are a member of the West division in the American League (AL). Founded in 1961, the franchise began its history as the Washington Senators. After 11 seasons of mediocrity, the Senators moved to Arlington, Texas, in 1972. It took the Rangers until 1996 to win their of seven first division titles. The Rangers won the AL Pennant in both 2010 and 2011 before losing to the San Francisco Giants and the St. Louis Cardinals, respectively, in the World Series. The team has yet to win a World Series title.

The Rangers play their home games at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas. Globe Life Field is the newest stadium in the MLB and opened in 2020. The Rangers have had two players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame, Nolan Ryan and Iván Rodríguez. Ryan is considered to be one of the great pitchers in MLB history and is the all-time leader in career no-hitters with seven. Ryan played from 1966 to 1993 and is one of just 29 players to play in four different decades.

Location: Arlington, Texas

Head Coach: Chris Woodward

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL West