San Francisco Giants

San Francisco Giants

Home » Baseball » MLB » San Francisco Giants

The San Francisco Giants are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Giants are a member of the West division in the National League (NL). The team was founded in 1883 as the New York Gothams before changing its name to the Giants in 1886. The team was based in New York City at the historic Polo Grounds until 1958 when they moved to San Francisco. The Giants are one of the oldest and most successful teams in MLB history, and they hold the record for most wins in the history of American baseball. While based in New York, the Giants won 17 NL Pennants and 5 World Series titles. Since moving to San Francisco, the Giants have won six Pennants and three World Series championships (2010, 2012, 2014). Their eight World Series titles ranks second in the National League and fifth in the entire MLB.

The Giants play their home games at Oracle Park in San Francisco, California. Oracle Park is famous for having McCovey Cove behind the right field wall. Fans will spend games in kayaks in the cove hoping for a home run ball to be hit out there. The Giants have had 24 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame, including John McGraw, Christy Mathewson, Willie Mays, and Willie McCovey. Mays is considered to be one of the greatest all around players in MLB history. He was a 24 time All-Star and 12 time Gold Glove Award winner. He had 3,283 career hits and 660 career home runs. In recent times, players like Madison Bumgarner, Tim Lincecum, and Buster Posey have been the reasons for the Giants successes.

Location: San Francisco, California

Head Coach: Gabe Kapler

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL West