New York Yankees

New York Yankees

Home » Baseball » MLB » New York Yankees

The New York Yankees are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The team is a member of the East division in the American League (AL). The Yankees were founded in 1901 as the Baltimore Orioles before moving to New York in 1903 and becoming the Highlanders. In 1913, the franchise changed their name to the Yankees. The Yankees are the most successful sports franchise in the United States with 27 World Series championships. The team has also won 40 AL Pennants to advance to the World Series. The Yankees have won 19 AL East titles since the division was formed in 1969. This is the most AL East titles during that span. Their last division victory was in 2019, and their last World Series championship was in 2009.

The Yankees play their home games at Yankee Stadium in The Bronx, New York City, New York. The Yankees built their new stadium in 2009, but the original Yankee Stadium is considered one of the most iconic stadiums in sports history. The team played its home games there from 1923 to 2008 (with a two season break for renovations). The Yankees have the most MLB Hall of Fame inductees in the history of the MLB with 26. Some of the most famous Hall of Famers in Yankees history are Joe DiMaggio, Yogi Berra, Lou Gehrig, Babe Ruth, Reggie Jackson, and Mickey Mantle. The Yankees most recent Hall of Fame inductee was closer Mariano Rivera in 2018. The team has also retired 21 numbers.

Location: The Bronx, New York City, New York

Head Coach: Aaron Boone

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL East