Los Angeles Dodgers

Los Angeles Dodgers

Home » Baseball » MLB » Los Angeles Dodgers

The Los Angeles Dodgers are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Dodgers are a member of the West division in the National League (NL). The team was founded in Brooklyn, New York, in 1884 as the Atlantics. After a series of eight name changes, the franchise finally landed on the Dodgers in 1932. They did not move to Los Angeles until 1958. While playing in Brooklyn, the Dodgers won 12 NL Pennants and one World Series title. While in Los Angeles, the Dodgers won four Pennants and two World Series titles between 1959 and 1966. In total, the franchise has 23 NL Pennants, 18 NL West division titles, and 6 World Series titles. Despite making the World Series in 2017 and 2018, the team has not won a championship since 1988.

The Dodgers play their home games at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, California. Constructed in 1962, it is the oldest MLB ballpark west of the Mississippi River and the third oldest overall. The Dodgers have had 15 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame. The most famous among them is Jackie Robinson, who was the first black player to ever play in the MLB. Robinson faced incredible amounts of adversity coming to the MLB but broke the color barrier for other players that were stuck in the Negro Leagues. Robinson was a career .311 hitter with 137 home runs. He also won the 1949 NL Most Valuable Player award. Robinson’s number 42 is retired by every team in the MLB. In total, the Dodgers have retired 10 numbers. The team has been one of the best in the MLB over the past decade.

Location: Los Angeles, California

Head Coach: Dave Roberts

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL West