Los Angeles Angels

Los Angeles Angels

Home » Baseball » MLB » Los Angeles Angels

The Los Angeles Angels are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Angels are a member of the West division in the American League (AL). The Angels were founded in 1966 by the famous singing cowboy actor Gene Autry. The team has played in the AL West division since its inception in 1969 and has won the division title nine times, most recently in 2014. In 2002, the Angels received their first Wild Card berth and went on to win their only AL Pennant and World Series when they beat the San Francisco Giants in seven games. 

The Angels play their home games at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California. It has become popular at Angel Stadium for the fans to bring stuffed monkeys to home games. These “rally monkeys” have been a team staple for good luck since 2000. The Angels have had just one played inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame – Vladimir Guerrero in 2018. They have, however, inducted 15 players into the Angels Hall of Fame and retired 5 jersey numbers, including legendary Hall of Fame pitcher Nolan Ryan’s number 30.

Location: Anaheim, California

Head Coach: Joe Maddon

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL West