Houston Astros

Houston Astros

Home » Baseball » MLB » Houston Astros

The Houston Astros are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Astros are a member of the West division in the American League (AL). The Astros were founded in 1962 as the Colt .45s and entered the league the same year as the New York Mets. The team changed their name to the Astros in 1965 when they moved into the Astrodome in Houston, Texas. The Astros played in the National League (NL) from 1962 to 2012. During that time, the Astros won seven division titles, two Wild Card berths, and one NL Pennant. After the 2012 season, the Astros were moved to the AL and have dominated the MLB over the last few years. The Astros won the AL West every year between 2017 and 2019 and won the AL Pennant in 2017 and 2019. The team won their first World Series title in 2017. 

The Astros have played their home games at Minute Maid Park in Houston, Texas, since 2000. Minute Maid Park was famous for having a hill in front of the centerfield wall until the 2016 when the Astros moved the fences in. The Astros have had two players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame. Second baseman Craig Biggio and Jeff Bagwell were instrumental to the success of the Astros throughout the 2000s. The Astros have retired nine of their player’s numbers and the number 42 has been retired by every team in the MLB to commemorate Jackie Robinson. After an abysmal start to the decade, the Astros dominated the back half of the 2010s.

Location: Houston, Texas

Head Coach: AJ Hinch

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL West