Detroit Tigers

Detroit Tigers

Home » Baseball » MLB » Detroit Tigers

The Detroit Tigers are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Tigers are a member of the Central division in the American League (AL). Founded in 1901, the Tigers are one of the AL’s eight charter franchises. The Tigers have won 11 AL Pennants in 7 different decades. Four of those Pennants resulted in World Series titles for the Tigers (1935, 1945, 1968, 1984). Most recently, the Tigers played in the World Series in 2012 when they lost to the San Francisco Giants. Since the creation of the AL Central in 1994, the Tigers have won seven division titles with their most recent coming in 2014.

The Tigers have played their home games at Progressive Field in Detroit, Michigan, since 2000. Despite the inclement weather Detroit often faces at the beginning and end of seasons, Progressive Field is an open air stadium. The Tigers have had 13 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame. Among them is Ty Cobb who some consider to be the greatest hitter of all time. Despite making the World Series in 2012, the second half of the decade was not very successful for the Tigers.

Location: Detroit, Michigan

Head Coach: Ron Gardenhire

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL Central