Cleveland Indians

Cleveland Indians

Home » Baseball » MLB » Cleveland Indians

The Cleveland Indians are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Indians are a member of the Central division in the American League (AL). The team was founded in 1901 but does not have a long history of success. The Indians have won two World Series titles but none since 1948. Their 71 year World Series drought is the longest in the Major Leagues. The Indians did make the World Series in 1995, 1997, and 2016 but lost to the Atlanta Braves, Florida Marlins, and Chicago Cubs, respectively. Since the creation of the AL Central in 1994, the Indians have won the most division titles at 10, including 6 in a row from 1995 to 2001 and 3 in a row from 2016 to 2018. 

The Indians play their home games at Progressive Field in Cleveland, Ohio. The ballpark, nicknamed “The Jake” because of its former name of Jacobs Field, has the second longest sellout streak in MLB history with 455 consecutive home games between 1995 and 2001. The Cleveland Indians have had 15 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame. Most famous among them are Cy Young, Larry Doby, Bob Feller, and Jim Thome. Thome is eighth all time on the MLB home run list with 612 career home runs. Since 2010, the Twins have had a lot of success despite not winning a World Series.

Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Head Coach: Terry Francona

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL Central