Chicago White Sox

Chicago White Sox

Home » Baseball » MLB » Chicago White Sox

The Chicago White Sox are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The White Sox are a member of the Central division in the American League (AL). Founded in 1901, the White Sox are one of the AL’s eight charter franchises. The team won AL Pennants in 1901, 1906, and 1917 but did not win again until 1959 and subsequently 2005. Their World Series title drought was even longer stretching from wins in 1906 and 1917 to an eventual win in 2005 when the team beat the Houston Astros.  Since the creation of the AL Central in 1994, the White Sox have won three division titles (2000, 2005, and 2008). 

The White Sox play their home games at Guaranteed Rate Field in Chicago, Illinois. The White Sox are located on the South Side of Chicago while their city rival, the Cubs, are located on the North Side of Chicago. The White Sox have had 10 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame with designated hitter and first baseman Frank Thomas likely being the most famous among them. Perhaps their most famous inductee though was not a player and instead owner Bill Veeck. Veeck was the owner of the team for over 30 years and is credited with bringing many innovations and contributions to the sport of baseball. Currently owned by Jerry Reinsdorf, the White Sox have not had much success since 2010.

Location: Chicago, Illinois

Head Coach: Rick Renteria

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL Central