Boston Red Sox

Boston Red Sox

Home » Baseball » MLB » Boston Red Sox

The Boston Red Sox are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Red Sox are a member of the East division in the American League (AL). Founded in 1901, the Red Sox were one of the eight charter franchises in the American League. The Red Sox were one of the most dominant teams in baseball at the beginning of their history. They won 5 World Series titles in their first 17 seasons. However, the team then went on the second longest championship drought in MLB history when they did not win a World Series from 1918 until 2004. After that victory, the team won again in 2007, 2013, and 2018. The Red Sox have won 14 AL Pennants, and they have won their division 10 times since the AL East was formed in 1969.

The Red Sox play their home games at Fenway Park in Boston, Massachusetts. The team has played their home games there since 1912, and it is the oldest ballpark in the MLB. As one of the oldest franchises in the MLB, the Red Sox have had some of the greatest players in MLB history play for their organization. The team has had 14 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame, headlined by Wade Boggs, Carlton Fisk, Ted Williams, Carl Yastrzemski, and Pedro Martinez. Martinez is considered to be a top 10 pitcher in MLB history and won 3 Cy Young awards while pitching for the Red Sox.

Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Head Coach: Ron Roenicke

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL East