Baltimore Orioles

Home » Baseball » MLB » Baltimore Orioles

The Baltimore Orioles are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Orioles are a member of the East division in the American League (AL). The Orioles were founded in 1901 as the Milwaukee Brewers before moving to St. Louis, Missouri, the next season and becoming the Browns. The team played in St. Louis for 52 years before moving to Baltimore in 1954. Their greatest years of success as a team came between 1966 and 1983 when they appeared in six World Series and won three of them. Since 1983, the team has won just two AL East division titles and appeared in the playoffs as a Wild Card just three times.

The Orioles play their home games at Oriole Park at Camden Yards in Baltimore, Maryland. Built in 1992, Camden Yards is considered one of the premiere ballparks in the United States. The Orioles have had seven players inducted into the Hall of Fame as members of the team, including Brooks Robinson, Jim Palmer, and Eddie Murray. Perhaps the most famous Orioles Hall of Famer is Cal Ripken Jr. Ripken Jr. played 21 seasons for the team and was a MLB All-Star in 19 of them. He is nicknamed “The Iron Man” because he made 2,632 conescutive starts which is an MLB record.

Location: Baltimore, Maryland

Head Coach: Brandon Hyde

League: MLB

Conference: American League

Division: AL East