Arizona Diamondbacks

Home » Baseball » MLB » Arizona Diamondbacks

The Arizona Diamondbacks are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Diamondbacks are a member of the West division in the National League (NL). The Diamondbacks were founded in 1998 as an NL expansion team. The team had almost immediate success winning division titles in 1999, 2001, and 2002. They also became the fastest expansion team to ever win a World Series title when they defeated the heavily favored New York Yankees in seven games in 2001, which was just their fourth season as an organization. The Diamondbacks won division titles in 2007 and 2011 and a Wild Card berth in 2017 but have yet to make it back to the World Series.

The Diamondbacks play their home games at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona. Due to the heat of Arizona summers, the Diamondbacks have a retractable roof and synthetic turf field. The only player to be inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame as a Diamondback has been Randy Johnson. Johnson and fellow pitcher Curt Schilling were critical to the team’s World Series title in 2001 when Johnson accounted for three of the team’s wins and Schilling the other. The team has retired Johnson’s number 51 and slugger Luis Gonzalez’s number 20. The Diamondbacks have failed to recapture their early history magic as a franchise and have been an average team since 2010.

Location: Phoenix, Arizona

Head Coach: Torey Lovullo

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL West